Interactive Bar

Home Page

Parbold Douglas Church of England Academy

Our Curriculum

Parbold Douglas Nursery Curriculum


Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and developing.


Children learn to become resilient, capable, confident and self-assured individuals, who learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and Positive Relationships with parents and/or a key person. Children need Enabling Environments to learn and develop well at nursery, their environment plays a key role in supporting and extending their development and learning. 


Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates, meaning all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and interconnected.

The Framework covers the education and care of all children, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.


Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned purposeful play based activities that are a mix of child-initiated and adult-led activities. The curriculum is set out into seven areas of learning and development:


Prime Areas:

  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


Specific Areas:

  • Literacy 
  • Mathematic
  • Understanding of the World 
  • Expressive Arts and Design


When planning and guiding your children’s activities, we reflect on the different ways that children learn. We consider three Characteristics of Learning:


  • Playing and Exploring 
  • Active Learning 
  • Creating and Thinking Critically